Skip to content

COVID-19 SERVICES UPDATE: 10 October 2020 expiry date for extended WoFs, CoFs and driver licences confirmed. More information.

SCAM ALERT: Vehicle licence (rego) renewal phishing emails.

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Some key milestones in the development of New Zealand’s government transport sector.

1922 The Main Highways Act established the Main Highways Board, with the repair and maintenance of roads funded by government subsidy.
1925 The Main Highway’s Board reports that New Zealand has: 56,680 miles – (90,688 kilometres) of road or tracks, 23,047 miles (36,875 kilometres) of which are formed to the width of a ‘dray’ (a horse-drawn cart of about 2 metres width).
1929 The New Zealand Transport Department was established on 12 February.
1954 The National Roads Board is established under the National Roads Act 1953.
1968 The Ministry of Transport is formed, amalgamating Land, Marine and Civil Aviation as well as Crash Fire and Meteorology.
1989 Transit New Zealand is formed as a Crown entity to manage the state highway network and the Land Transport Fund.
1993 Land Transport Safety Authority is established to promote safety in land transport.
1997  Transfund becomes a new organisation by splitting away from Transit New Zealand to manage National Roads Fund.
2004 Land Transport New Zealand is created under the Land Transport Amendment Act 2004, merging the functions of the Land Transport Safety Authority and Transfund New Zealand.
2008 The NZ Transport Agency is established, merging Land Transport New Zealand and Transit New Zealand.